Home » Personal » Convener Corner » Convener Corner: Meet Shannon Hodge!

Convener Corner: Meet Shannon Hodge!

Follow me on Twitter

Communiversity convener and health coach Shannon Hodge is no stranger to weight loss strategies, but for almost three years, she’s been teaching others how to kick every other frustrating method to the curb…with the exception of an effective system she came up with herself.

Hodge teaches classes such as Kick Your Sugar Habit, Weight Loss for Women 40+, and tomorrow night’s Ending Emotional Eating.

“I struggled with emotional eating, yo-yo dieting, and sugar for years,” Hodge said. “After successfully losing 40 pounds (and easily keeping it off), getting sugar under control, and overcoming emotional eating, it became my mission to share exactly what steps I took to other women (and some men) so that they can have the same success.”

Hodge is passionate about sharing with others her approach because she understands what it is like to feel totally lost and helpless when it came to weight control.

“When I was struggling with food and my weight, it took a lot of energy,” Hodge confessed. “I was trying new diets, spending money, and worrying about what I was ‘allowed’ and ‘not allowed’ to eat. I felt guilty when I ate foods on the ‘bad’ list, or whenever I over ate. It was discouraging to wake up in the morning and dread getting dressed, feel heavy and tired, and even when I was exercising and eating a lot of vegetables, I still didn’t lose weight. At the time, I knew it was a struggle, but I didn’t know how much time and energy it was taking away from me.

“Now that I no longer struggle with food, I have space to have ‘me time,’ and do my hobbies, such as play my ukulele and write songs. Plus, I know I’m in great health and get to enjoy putting on dresses and strutting around. I know what it’s like to be frustrated with weight and eating, and there’s no reason anyone should have to feel like that, year after year!”

Shannon Hodge’s Story:

“I remember locking myself into my office and eating almost an entire package of sugar cookies. And these were the HUGE sugar cookies (like 4 inches across). I felt guilty while I was eating, but didn’t know how to stop. As I walked home later, I tried to figure out how I was going to explain to my roommates that most of the cookies were gone. Looking back, I finally found what really works to get control of food and lose weight.

“The best part of it is that the things that are required to make a lasting change are also the things that make life WAY more fun, fulfilling, adventurous, and satisfying.”

Shannon Hodge Photo

In addition to her dog, Hodge loves Communiversity!

“I love getting together and sharing my story as well as hearing the stories of people who attend,” she said. “Great connections are formed, and it’s incredible just to show people that they are not alone…I’ve been there, too.”

WORDS HODGE LIVES BY:

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

WHERE YOU CAN FIND HER:

To take a class with Hodge, search Communiversity’s database by “Convener Last Name” and type in “Hodge”. Don’t forget to check back when our fall schedule is released for more class offerings!

Check out her Ending Emotional Eating class tomorrow evening!

To learn more about Hodge and her weight loss tactics, visit her website.

If you enjoy Hodge’s positive energy and sense of humor as much as we at Communiversity do, subscribe to her YouTube channel here!
While you’re at it, like Hodge’s fun and inspiring Facebook page!

JUST FOR FUN:

If Hodge were an animal, she would be a sloth so she could “learn how to be still and relax”.

By Jessica Turner and Shannon Hodge


2 Comments

  1. Sheryl Godsy says:

    Shannon is awesome! An inspirational coach and fun presenter !

  2. […] Shannon First! (Trust us, you’ll like her.) Get to know Shannon through Communiversity’s Convener Corner, or watch this YouTube […]

Leave a comment