Home » Events » Classes » Convener Corner: Meet Chun Man Sit!

Convener Corner: Meet Chun Man Sit!

Follow me on Twitter

Chun Man Sit Photo

CONVENER CORNER: MEET CHUN MAN SIT!

Chun Man Sit is a Communiversity convener who has been teaching Tai Chi and Kung Fu since 1988.

“I have practiced Tai Chi and Kung Fu for more than 40 years, starting in Hong Kong in the early 1970s,” Master Sit said.

One of his students once asked him why he decided to study the martial arts. He features his answer on his website:
“Why do American kids play baseball? They play because it’s a part of their culture. I practice martial arts for the same reason.”

“I’m Chinese, and I watched lots of Kung Fu movies in Hong Kong,” Master Sit said. “I always wanted to learn Kung Fu. I started when I made enough money to pay for lessons.”

Master Sit believes that there are many benefits to practicing Tai Chi and Kung Fu, and he believes it is important to share his skills with others.

“You can become healthy and have good energy,” Master Sit said. “You can bring your body and mind into harmony. You learn to use less force to beat a stronger opponent, and eventually, you will become happy.”

Chun Man Sit Tai Chi Flow Photo

Master Sit’s mother passed away in 1997, at which point he traveled to San Francisco for her funeral.

“During the two days, my sister and my brothers fought with one another many times, over trivial and unimportant things,” Master Sit said. “I did not understand what caused these problems, since our mother was 87 and died in her sleep. I was very sad about my mother’s death, but I felt at peace. Then I realized that my brothers and my sister were so upset that they could not function in a logical manner. Their emotion and Qi were affected by Mother’s death. I knew then it was my Tai Chi practice that kept me in balance and harmony.”

Chun Man Sit Peace Through Tai Chi Photo

Master Sit enjoys teaching people who want to try out Tai Chi and Kung Fu, but don’t necessarily want to commit to a long-term study.

“I always tell people to give it a try, and stay for a while if they like the class,” Master Sit said.

Master Sit features a series of training videos on his website for those who are interested in getting a preview.
Here’s an example:

WORDS MASTER SIT LIVES BY:
“Tai Chi is all about yin and yang, the harmony of yin and yang, and the change of yin and yang. This will improve your happiness and also your fighting ability. Qi, or energy, has everything to do with your health and healing.”

WHERE YOU CAN FIND MASTER SIT:
To take a class with Master Sit, search Communiversity’s database by “Convener Last Name” and type in “Sit”. His next class, Tai Chi and Qi Gong, takes place next Saturday morning, Feb. 22 from 10:30 a.m. to noon, and his Six Elbows Kung Fu class happens the following Friday, Feb. 28.

To find out more about Master Sit, visit his website!

JUST FOR FUN:
If Master Sit were an animal, he would be a white crane.
“In Chinese idea, the white crane is very flexible and calm, intelligent and divine,” Master Sit said.

By Jessica Turner and Chun Man Sit

Leave a Reply

